I’m not writing it down to remember it later…

I love this quote so very much!

I’m not writing it down to remember it later, I’m writing it down to remember it now.

I lifted it from the front page of the Field Notes website, and if I ever get a tattoo of a phrase on my inside wrist, it will be these words.

As a result of experiencing lupus fog, information often feels like it simply drains out of my brain regardless of how hard I try to retain it, and to compensate I semi-obsessively write things down, and record voice notes, and use tools such as Evernote to capture and store longterm memories. For that reason, the idea of writing something down to remember it now makes perfect sense to me.

To anyone else with a fog-like condition (for example, people with fibromyalgia often talk about ‘fibro fog’) who stumbles on this post, how do you fight the effects of your fog? Please share in the comments section below.

7 thoughts on “I’m not writing it down to remember it later…

  1. Reblogged this on divawithlupus and commented:
    This post gives a great (and witty) perspective on lupus fog and how to cope with it. I, too, use Evernote (www.evernote.com) to help with my memory deficits. It is a free application that can be applied to your PC, mobile or tablet.
    STAY FABULOUS!

    • Hi Kori, it has been a challenge for me as well, and probably for a lot of people with Lupus. Thankfully for me, I work with great people, so I’m open about the times when I know I’m not focussed in, and I’ve talked with all of them about the fact that sometimes even I might not be aware that I’m in the fog.

      I hope Evernote helps you too! One of the great things about it is that it’s available on almost any platform, so I have it on my work PC, my home PC, my phone and my tablet, which means I can capture things and retrieve things anywhere.

      All the best!

      Murray @ Midnight

  2. I read your blog because the title caught my eye and made me smile. Note taking is a must for me. I even take notes of things of interest that happen during the day just so I can remember to tell my husband when he gets home from work. I also do what I call memory/memories. Or maybe memory association. While this tool was useful earlier on in my Lupus, it’s less and less effective now. Let me give you an example. Let’s say I want to remember to turn the dehumidifier off at night (to save on electricity but I ALWAYS forget). I picture myself taking my bedtime medicine which requires me to get water from the fridge which is next to the basement door. I envision that when I do that, I will remember the dehumidifier. Lame kind of example but I apply it to anything that I regularly forget. Kind of a mental exercise.

    Mostly though, notes are the ONLY thing anymore that really work. GREAT BLOG!

    • Hi Rose,

      I do memory association as well, but like you this has become less effective as I have got older.

      I also rely on redundancy — for a lot of things I will write a note, put a reminder in my todo application and add it to my Google calendar.

      For bills, I have a spreadsheet on which I record the bill, how much is owed, and the due date, and I also add these to my todo app and my Google Calendar.

      Unfortunately, even THEN I sometimes let things I need to do slip by — but a lot less often than if I didn’t go to the trouble.

      And, thank you for your kind words about Wisdom City! 🙂

      Murray @ Midnight

  3. I love Evernote! Use it for work and also find that I have to take notes of even the most minor details lately, so this is a particular helpful post even for those of us not suffering from a physical ailment. Pushing 40 and having 8 things going on simultaneously at any given time will do it to you, too.

    • Evernote is A Wonderful Thing! And yes, you’re absolutely right, it can be of immense benefit to anyone with a hectic lifestyle. What’s this “pushing forty” thing? Isn’t that when women are supposed to be at their prime? (Of course, it is going unsaid that it is also probably when women are at their absolute busiest). 🙂

      M@M

Leave a Reply

